The Liturgical Calendar

The liturgical year is made up of six seasons:

  • Advent - four(ish) weeks of preparation before the celebration of Jesus' birth
  • Christmas - recalling the Nativity of Jesus Christ and his manifestation to the peoples of the world
  • Lent - a six-week period of penance before Easter
  • Sacred Paschal Triduum - the holiest "Three Days" of the Church's year, where the Christian people recall the suffering, death, and resurrection of Jesus
  • Easter - 50 days of joyful celebration of the Lord's resurrection from the dead ending with the celebration of Pentecost
  • Ordinary Time - divided into two sections (one span after Christmas Time and another after Easter Time), wherein the faithful consider the fullness of Jesus' teachings and works among his people


2024 Holy Days of Obligation

The 2024 liturgical calendar runs between Dec. 3rd, 2023 to Nov. 30, 2024.

  • Dec. 8, 2023 - The Immaculate Conception of The Blessed Virgin Mary
  • Dec. 25, 2023 - Christmas
  • May 9, 2024 - Ascension of Jesus (transferred to Sunday May 12)
  • Aug. 15, 2024 - Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary
  • Nov. 1, 2024 - All Saints' Day

Due to the Solemnity of Mary, Mother of God (Jan. 1st) falling on a Monday it is not a Holy Day of Obligation for 2024. When a feast falls on either a Monday or a Saturday the obligation is removed (with the exception of Christmas).

Resources from the USCCB

  • Here is a link to the U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops' website for more information on the liturgical calendar for 2024.
  • Click here for a PDF version of 2024 Liturgical Calendar.
  • Here is a calendar from the U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops indicating major days/weeks of awareness/recognition.