Hispanic Pastoral Commission 

The Hispanic Pastoral Commission serves as an advisory body for the Bishop, diocesan staff and particularly the diocesan Hispanic Ministry Department as the diocese seeks to meet the pastoral needs of the Latino community.  The commission supports the mission of Hispanic Ministry as it seeks to fully integrate the Hispanic community of the Diocese of Des Moines into the life of the Church.

  • Clergy Members:  Priests and deacons, religious sisters  who work directly with the Hispanic Ministry
  • Community Members: Laity active in Hispanic ministry within parishes or the diocese; members of non-parish community organizations which work directly with Latinos


  • Bishop William Joensen
  • Fr. PJ McManus, Chair
  • Fr. Emmanuel Bassey
  • Fr. Luis Alonso Mejia
  • Fr. Fabian Moncada
  • Fr. Chris Reising
  • Fr. Litto Thomas
  • Deacon Juan Bustamante
  • Carlos Castillo
  • Hilda Contreras
  • Gabriela Finnegan
  • Marilu Mendez
  • Eren Muñiz
  • Monica Meredith
  • Paula Plasencia
  • Virginia Soto
  • Jessica Maciel Pancho (Staff)
  • Mayra Moriel de Banuelos (Staff)
  • Jason Kurth (Staff)

  Role and Responsibilities of Members

  • Provide consultation, consultation and suggestion to the bishop, Office of Hispanic Ministry and diocesan staff regarding the pastoral needs specific to the Hispanic community
  • Assist bishop and the diocese identify, prioritize, and address pastoral needs
  • Assist bishop and diocesan staff in the evaluation of programs, services and activities of the diocese, particularly their integration within Hispanic ministry
  • Identify and cultivate lay leadership within the Hispanic community for service within parishes, the diocese and on the Commission